Coming Out

Coming out is such a milestone for members of the LGBTQ+ community. It is a passing from being “in the closet” which means that we were previously not open to others about our sexual orientation or gender identity, to being open with all people, or “out” as I like to call it.

Below are links to several websites that helped me come out, including a link to a series of videos starring one of my heroes, US Senator Tammy Baldwin who shared her struggles with being an openly gay woman in a major political field during a time when you didn’t really talk about that sort of thing.

 

And here are several quotes that I have been reviewing over and over in my head as well.

“All of us who are openly gay are living and writing the history of our movement. We are no more – and no less – heroic than the suffragists and abolitionists of the 19th century; and the labor organizers, Freedom Riders, Stonewall demonstrators, and environmentalists of the 20th century. We are ordinary people, living our lives, and trying as civil-rights activist Dorothy Cotton said, to ‘fix what ain’t right’ in our society.” ~ Tammy Baldwin, US Senator for Wisconsin (D-WI)

“From day one, I have always been open about my sexual orientation.” ~ Tammy Baldwin, US Senator for Wisconsin (D-WI)

“Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one’s definition of your life; define yourself.” ~ Harvey Fierstein

“Heterosexuality is not normal, it’s just common.” ~ Dorothy Parker

“I am tired of lying by omission…I suffered for years because I was scared to be out. I’m here today because I am Gay.” ~ Ellen Page, 14 February 2014 at the Human Rights Campaign

I really do hope that this becomes a good resource for you and your friends. I know its not much, but I hope it helps.

Leave a Reply

